Using Health Science Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
PubMed / MEDLINE

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules. Tutorial

CINAHL Basic Search - VSCS Libraries (3:05)

Subject Heading Searching in CINAHL (3:20)

PubMed MEDLINE is a large biomedical article database maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Since it is only an index, access to the full text is provided through links to other sources, such as a subscription library database or a publisher's site website.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journal articles in the field of medicine through the EBSCO platform. MEDLINE is the US National Library of Medicine bibliographic database.

PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Searching Tutorials

PubMed Basics
Self-paced tutorial to introduce PubMed and its functions.
PubMed for Nurses
This brief tutorial, designed specifically for nurses, provides an introduction to searching the biomedical journal literature using PubMed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Related Information

Recorded Workshop

Science and Allied Health Workshop: MeSHing with Subject Headings

Join the Science and Allied Health liaison librarians from the VSCS Libraries as they break down the best ways to search for articles. This week's topic: MeSH - It's not just netting! MeSH are Medical Subject Headings, and they're an important tool for health sciences research. We'll show you how to find MeSH headings, and how they can help you find the research you need.

Health & Exercise Sciences Subject Guide