Skip to Main Content
Serving the
Community College of Vermont
&
Vermont State University
My Library Accounts
Search
Search
Search Tools
Discovery Search
This link opens in a new window
- Search across multiple databases
Databases A-Z
- Search individual databases
Publication Finder (Journals & Newspapers by Title)
This link opens in a new window
- Search or browse individual journals
Subject Guides
- Recommended resources by subject.
Topic Guides
- Resources and guidance on important topics.
Virtual Displays
- Curated book and video collections.
Course Reserves
This link opens in a new window
VSCS Libraries Catalog
This link opens in a new window
VSCS Archives
Search Other Libraries
Types of Sources
Background Information
Primary Sources
Reference Sources (Encyclopedias & Dictionaries)
Newspapers & News Sources
Popular & Professional Magazines
Academic Journals & Peer-Reviewed Articles
Books & eBooks
Government Documents
Videos (Films & Documentaries)
Images & Photographs
Statistics & Data
Need Help?
Library Search Strategies
FAQ
Email: libraries@vsc.edu
Chat
Phone: 1‑800‑431‑0025
Text: 802‑278‑0997
Request an Appointment
Using the Libraries
Using the Libraries
Search "Using the Libraries"
Search
Library Orientation
Library Tours
Tutorials and Workshops
Borrowing & Renewing Materials
Interlibrary Loan
Returning Library Materials
Databases & Discovery Tools
Accessing, Saving, & Linking to Search Results
Finding Academic Journals & Peer-Reviewed Articles
Finding Books & eBooks
Course Reserves
Rooms & Study Spaces
Library Accounts
Signing In to Library Resources
Need Help?
FAQ
Email: libraries@vsc.edu
Chat
Phone: 1‑800‑431‑0025
Text: 802‑278‑0997
Request an Appointment
How to Do Research
How to Do Research
Search "How to Do Research"
Search
The Research Process
-
Research strategy
,
research topics
,
background research
,
thesis statements
,
counterarguments
, &
missing information.
Sources of Information
- Types of sources:
primary sources
,
reference sources (encyclopedias & dictionaries)
,
news
,
magazines
,
academic journals
,
books & ebooks
,
government documents
,
videos
,
images
, and
statistics
Searching for Information
-
Databases and discovery tools
,
search terms
,
refining results
,
saving and linking to sources
,
finding specific items
, and
searching outside of the library
.
Evaluating Information
-
The SIFT method
,
scholarly vs popular sources
,
avoiding bias
,
websites
,
misinformation and fact checking
.
Integrating and Citing Information
-
Integrating sources
,
citation
(
MLA
,
APA
,
Chicago
,
AMA
,
CSE
&
APSA
),
citation tools
.
Information Ethics
-
Avoiding plagiarism
,
copyright and fair use
Need Help?
FAQ
Email: libraries@vsc.edu
Chat
Phone: 1‑800‑431‑0025
Text: 802‑278‑0997
Request an Appointment
For Faculty & Staff
For Faculty & Staff
Search "For Faculty & Staff"
Search
Liaison Librarians
Library Instruction
VSCS Library Resources (Canvas Menu Item)
Workshops & Video Tutorials
Library Learning Objects in Canvas
Linking to Library Resources
Course Reserves
Recommend a Purchase
Copyright & Fair Use
Open Educational Resources & Textbook Alternatives
Professional Development & Teaching Resources
Library Manual for Academic Mentors & Peer Tutors
Need Help?
FAQ
Email: libraries@vsc.edu
Chat
Phone: 1‑800‑431‑0025
Text: 802‑278‑0997
Request an Appointment
About the VSCS Libraries
About the VSCS Libraries
Search "About the VSCS Libraries"
Search
News & Events
Library Staff
Mission & Policies
Library Collections
System Data
Accessibility Information
Remote Users
(CCV & VTSU)
Locations & Hours
Castleton
Johnson
Lyndon
Randolph
Williston
Need Help?
FAQ
Email: libraries@vsc.edu
Chat
Phone: 1‑800‑431‑0025
Text: 802‑278‑0997
Request an Appointment
Get Help
Get Help
Search Frequently Asked Questions
Search
Frequently Asked Questions
Database Outages & Technical problems
Contact Us
Email: libraries@vsc.edu
Chat
Phone: 1‑800‑431‑0025
Text: 802‑278‑0997
Request an Appointment
VSCS Libraries
Guides
Subject Guides
Nursing Subject Guide
Test
Search this Guide
Search
Nursing Subject Guide
Nursing Subject Guide
Using Health Science Databases
Evidence-Based Practice and PICOT Questions
NCLEX Review
OER & Teaching Resources
Test
Test
<<
Previous:
OER & Teaching Resources
